Sketch Whales

nuiiiiiiii!

leave a comment »

Ah, starting university again has been fun! I’ve been reading up on hiragana again and it’s just… fun! I hardly drew anything this week, but got drunk quite a lot \( ^ _^)/

But I’ve finally gotten some time to just sit and sketch.

When I draw, I’m often inspired by what I see by Takehito Harada. But since I still don’t speak Japanese, I haven’t gotten to read any of his manga or quite understand his website or his posts, but the weird mix of fanatasy elements and modern objects is so compelling, I want to make stories like that, or stories that include those elements. They might not be anything like his, and they certainly won’t look it, since I can’t draw like him, but he seems to be a great souce of inspiration.

But isn’t it nice to be able to be inspired by something, and then the outcome purposely doesn’t look anything like the source? Otherwise it wouldn’t anything but copy?

Written by Jacob Hartmann

August 29, 2009 at 10:00 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

