Sketch Whales

Indie Games

leave a comment »

I don’t think I was wrong when I wrote I had lost faith and interest in video games. But it was jumping the gun a little considering the amount of indie games being produced at the moment. Olivier Lejade was quick to remind me of this. But I still lack the qualities that I look for in games. That might not be fair either, considering that these qualities are mostly found in books and independent movies and might not be inherit to video games? When I see somebody trying to apply them, it seems forced and I loose interest.

Perhaps the only game that I’ve experienced where I can say I truly find the qualities I’m looking for is Braid. While Yatzee of Zero Punctuation mentions that it keeps gameplay and story seperate, he fails to recognize that it also lets the player intertwine, mix and match the story as the sees fit, making it very open to interpretation.

List to myself of indie games I need to complete/buy:

  • Aquaria
  • Braid
  • Dyson
  • The Spirit Engine 2
  • Noitu Love 2

I’ve finally gotten Spelunky. By gotten, I mean understood. The controls are awesome in that they do not leave room for failure, or newbies. I also really dig Derek Yus attempt at making the playing chosen actions, feel like self-involved stories. I’ve also died 132 times and still haven’t gotten past level 11.

Written by Jacob Hartmann

August 3, 2009 at 6:06 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

