Sketch Whales

I’m Happy Again

with 2 comments

This year was terrible. Quitting that disgusting video game education and then spending the year almost completely alone in a new town… ARGH. Finally over. Taking a history class now so I can start studying Japanese next month in a bigger and better city.

Tiny Cartridge is gonna publish the article I was writing on Contact, which is making me… even more happy!

And my I was out of paper, so I bought a moleskine sketchbook, which is like the best sketchbook I’ve every been near, but also the most expensive.

I finished thumbnailing a comic, but I’m out of paper as I mentioned, so I won’t start drawing it fully till some time next week. But other than that, I’m already working on another story.

I’ve also been playing video games again. I know I’ve become too critical of games. It would be easier to just enjoy whatever comes my way but… they just don’t cut it. Knytt Stories was quite a fantastic experience Deserves all it’s praise. Mass Effect is good but… the kinetic feel of battles is missing, making me long for Bioshock, and the characters, while fantastically acted, are stiff as hell, making me long for Half-Life 2. But I do LIKE the characters, especially Wrex and the various Hanar. Wish the Hanar were playable.

Sketches! Bring in the SKETCHES!

If I were to make a video game, I would like this character to be the main.

This a map of my next comic.

This is the Sewer-Slug-Hag. She lives on an island.

This Moth-Slug reminds me of the dragonfly boss from Beyond Good & Evil.

In my next comic, this guy is present. I think he’ll be less crazy.

This is Samuel, the Fish-Droid-Butler. He’s in the comic I’m currently making.

This guy spies for fish.

Written by Jacob Hartmann

July 24, 2009 at 5:01 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Jacob,

    I just read the article you wrote on Contact (via Tiny Cartridge) and would like to say that it’s fantastic!

    Contract was a game I followed prior to its release, and picked up day one; it all seemed very exciting to me. Until I played it.

    Although innovative and beautiful to look at, the gameplay did not grab me enough to finish it. Your article on the other hand has inspired me to give it another go.

    Also, browsing your sketch work on this site makes me think of Mervyn Peake’s art – something that I find very fascinating. I really like your work

    Best,

    Pete

    Pete

    August 3, 2009 at 3:06 pm

    • Haha, I think I had to give Contact 3-4 tries before I really got into it.
      Thank you for the comparison! Merwin Peake is a fantastically frightening artist. I’ll see if I can make some horrifying drawings as well.

      Jacob

      August 3, 2009 at 3:44 pm


Leave a Reply

